Top User Alarms To Turn On

Utilizing alarms in ActivTrak is a great way to set guardrails for users. They also help Admins manage productivity and ensure operational compliance according to  the organization's guidelines. 

There are three alarm types in ActivTrak:

  • User Activity - triggered by specific user activity
  • USB Alarms - detect USB device and/or file-sharing activity
  • Security Audit Alarms - triggered by changes made to the ActivTrak account

There are different circumstances in which to use each of these types of alarms depending on your organization’s unique needs and desired level of security.

Below are the top alarms you should consider activating in your ActivTrak account: 

 

Alarm

Description

Plan Type

Blocked Website Accessed

The Blocked Website alarm is triggered when a user tries to access a site that has been blocked by the account admin. ActivTrak offers a website blocking feature that will redirect any user trying to access the site to websiteisblocked.com, preventing access to the website.

To learn more about the blocking feature click here

To learn more about this alarm and its capabilities click here

Free & Advanced

Social Media Break

The Social Media Break alarm is configured to detect users social media use. It can be used as is or customized to better suit the team's needs.

To learn more about this alarm and it's capabilities click here

Free & Advanced

Data Saved to USB Device 

 

The USB alarm is triggered when either a USB device is inserted or written to. This alarm is helpful to identify users transfer of data that may or may not be within the regulations of the organization.

To learn more about this alarm and it's capabilities click here

Advanced

File Sharing

 

The File Sharing alarm is triggered when a user is engaging in file sharing. By default, there are pre-configured common file sharing sites such as Google Drive, Dropbox, Box.com, and iCloud included in this alarm. If file sharing is prohibited or limited in your organization, this alarm will be helpful to keep track of  files being shared or uploaded to the cloud.

To learn more about this alarm and it's capabilities click here

Advanced

Alarm Deleted

 

The Alarm Deleted alarm is triggered when an admin on the ActivTrak account deletes an alarm. This provides an audit trail in the Security Audit Log and holds Admins accountable. It is also helpful to identify when mistakes are made. 

To learn more about this alarm and it's capabilities click here

Advanced

ActivTrak User Deleted

 

The ActivTrak User Deleted alarm is triggered when a user is deleted from the Storage page. This alarm helps ensure controlled access to employee monitored data and audit any changes to user & admin permissions. These events will also appear in the Security Audit Log for further analysis if needed.  

You can learn more about this alarm in this click here

Advanced

Agent Likely Uninstalled

 

The Agent Likely uninstalled alarm is triggered when a user tries to uninstall the agent on their machine. This will help identify when users may be tampering with the ActivTrak agent installed on their computer(s). This event will appear in the Security Audit Log and can be customized to send an email notification. 

You can learn more about this alarm in this click here

Advanced 

 

Was this article helpful?

0 out of 0 found this helpful

Comments

No comments