ActivTrak licensing - how does it work?

ActivTrak licenses are assigned on a per-user, per-computer, per-domain basis, but what does this mean?

Once the ActivTrak agent is installed, user tracking is automatic. Any user that logs into a computer where the agent is installed will automatically be tracked and count against user licensing.

For example, imagine there are 5 users that need to be monitored, therefore 5 licenses are required. Now, let's say Eva, one of the employees, signs into a guest profile on Bob’s computer which also has the agent installed.  Since Eva accessed a different user profile than Bob's, this is going to appear as a new user on the ActivTrak dashboard, which will place the account over the license limit with the user count now being equal to 6.
licensingOne.PNG

The reason a new user was created, taking another license, is due to the fact that a new user profile was accessed on Bob's machine. New user profiles, on machines that are not domain connected, will count as a new user within ActivTrak.

Each computer shown in the image above is a stand-alone machine (not domain connected) which is why the agent is not recognizing Eva and adding her as a new user. If you do not have Active Directory, Azure, or a similar environment, but wanted to monitor Eva's activity on Bob's machine an additional license would need to be purchased. If two profiles for the same user exist in ActivTrak, an alias can be created to view them under one profile. Please note that creating an alias will not reduce the license count.

Domain Connected:

Now let's say that the machines are domain connected, and Eva accessed Bob's computer using her user profile credentials. This would not raise the user count. If an organization uses Active Directory, Azure, or a similar environment, and all of their computers are bound to it (meaning regardless of which machine they access the same user profile is being used) this will count as a single user.

licensingTwo.PNG

 

What if the licenses are exceeded?

Paying customers see no immediate penalty or charge for going over the license limit; our paid plans include a 7-day grace period to make adjustments. The grace period resets when the user count is less than or equal to the license limit. The current user count / license limit can be seen in the upper right when logged into the account. The example below shows an account paying for 26 licenses but tracking 28 users:

licensecountKB.PNG

An account admin will need to either remove users and/or purchase additional licenses. If action is not taken by the end of the grace period, data will still continue to be collected, but all App Access users will lose access to data and reports until resolved.

Free accounts do not have a grace period and will lose access to data and reports as soon as the 3 licenses are exceeded. An account admin will need to either remove users or upgrade to a paid plan.

Was this article helpful?

25 out of 31 found this helpful

Comments

No comments