Managing User Agents

ActivTrak Admins can now manage User Agents from a new, standalone page. You can learn more about user permissions here

The User Agents Page has an intuitive design that allows Admins to view and export user information and take administrative actions to delete, merge, or add user agents to the do not track list.

User Agents Table

The User Agents page includes a new table that displays key User Agent information, detailed below.

Table Column Name  

Description

ID

The ActivTrak ID number of a user agent. The first user agent in an organization starts at 1 and then increases sequentially.

Logon Domain

The logon domain on which the user agent’s unique activity was identified.

User (Alias)

A concatenation of a user agent’s user attribute and user alias (only present if populated).

First Log Record

A date timestamp that represents the First Log Record for a given user.

Last Log Record

A relative time value from the current time to the last log record for a given user.

Last Screenshot

A relative time value from the current time to the screenshot for a given user. This is only displayed if Screenshots are enabled.   

User Agent Microview

When you click on a given User Agent, it will bring up a micro view with detailed information about the particular user.

Within each user’s micro view, Admins can access detailed information about the user agent, including storage information.

User Agents Search & Filter 

ActivTrak Admins can use the search field on the User Agents page to search for users by “Login Domain”, “User”, or “Alias”. When executing a quick search, the Admin will see the results broken down by type.

Admins can take advantage of advanced search capabilities by selecting the filter icon on the right-hand side of the search bar. Selecting this icon will reveal the advanced search interface where Admins can execute searches with more specific criteria.

Other available options allow Admins to export all user agent information using the export button.

User Agent Administrative Actions

Admins can take actions to manage user agents on the User Agents Page. Using the three-dot menu on the row item for a given user agent, Admins can delete a user agent or add it to the Do Not Track list.

To take bulk actions, including user merge, Admins can select users with the checkbox on the left of the ID column. 

With two or more users selected, Admins can take advantage of the user merge feature. Learn more about common use cases for the user merge feature here.

Deleting a user removes all information about the user from ActivTrak when the delete processes. If activity from a deleted user is captured by an agent, then this user agent will reappear.  

Adding users to the Do Not Track list deletes user records from the user agent list and prevents any new user activity from reappearing in the user agent list.

User Count Exceeds License Count

Customers receive a 14-day grace period when their user agent count exceeds their license count. When this occurs, an in-app message will appear informing Admins that they have exceeded their license count. Admins will also be sent an email informing them of the license count overage. During the grace period, one of the following actions must be taken to avoid service disruption:  

  1. Add more licenses to account for the additional users. You can update your ActivTrak plan here or by getting in touch with your account manager
  2. Reclaim licenses by deleting, merging, or adding users to the Do Not Track list. Learn more here.

During the 14-day grace period, users will continue to have access to all data and reports. However, after that time, if no action is taken, users will still have access to the ActivTrak app, but the reports and dashboards will display no data.

 

Learn More:

 

Was this article helpful?

1 out of 4 found this helpful

Comments

No comments